Hello Ventuzians!
THE FORUMS ARE CLOSED!

Please join our discord server HERE!! << click me :D

We are shutting our Ventuz Forum, but don't worry, it will all be archived for you to search in if you have a query. From now on, please add all your comments, questions or observations into our Discord Server

Thanks for the great time - see you on discord!!
Dee, Karol, Daniel and the whoooole Product and Support team!

Check if DIRECTORY exists?

Q and A about functionality and how to solve a special task for your application.

Moderator: Support

dondi

Check if DIRECTORY exists?

Post by dondi » 03 Nov 2014, 21:35

I am new to Ventuz and working on a personal project to help me learn. I am doing the obligatory Music (Now Playing) Visualizer. I have tons of art that I have procured over some time that I can use for this project. Currently, I am working with ARTIST 'fanart' where I am trying to load-in 3 random pieces of fanart of the currently-playing ARTIST into a background scene from a specific directory. In my project\images folder I have made a copy of my MUSIC ART folder that contains subdirectories categorized by ARTIST NAME. These subfolders contain a thumbnail of the ARTIST (folder.jpg), BANNER ART (banner.jpg), LOGO ART (logo.png), and CDArt (cdart.png - images of the album disc art), etc.

Most of the time, but not all of the time (depending upon how obscure the artist is), there is another subfolder named EXTRAFANART that contains the images that I am currently trying to work with. I am able to load-in these images, as well as check for their existence AFTER I load them into an array. I'd like a more elegant solution where I can check to see if the EXTRAFANART folder exists BEFORE I load it into an array. Ventuz throws errors otherwise.

More specifically, I am using the NOW PLAYING ARTIST as a String variable and creating the following (A+B+C) expression:
A = .\Images\Music Library Art\