cluster synchronization

Q and A about functionality and how to solve a special task for your application.

Moderator: Support

cy001316
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2015, 04:23

cluster synchronization

Post by cy001316 » 22 Oct 2015, 01:53

I have two machines for the cluster rendering,they connect to the same local area network.One of the machine's mode networking is the Master another one is the Client.But when I use OSC to control , only one machine of the screen will switch, the other unchanged, that is to say, the picture of another computer without synchronization. How should I solve it?

joschy
Posts: 142
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 07:39
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany
Contact:

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by joschy » 22 Oct 2015, 10:14

the easy way is to use multicast IP's, take a look at the manual ;)
3DJo - [Ventuz] freelancer and trainer

User avatar
lerou
Posts: 337
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 07:14
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by lerou » 22 Oct 2015, 10:35

send OSC to both machines, not only to the master.

cy001316
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2015, 04:23

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by cy001316 » 23 Oct 2015, 03:48

But the OSC software can only write one IP?

cy001316
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2015, 04:23

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by cy001316 » 23 Oct 2015, 03:53

joschy wrote:the easy way is to use multicast IP's, take a look at the manual ;)
Do you means that the Multicast Address in TUIO settings option?

cy001316
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2015, 04:23

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by cy001316 » 23 Oct 2015, 03:54

cy001316 wrote:But the OSC software can only write one IP?
But the OSC software can only write one IP?

Thomas
Posts: 41
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 08:40
Location: Düsseldorf

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by Thomas » 23 Oct 2015, 06:48

Thats the reason to use a Multicast Address in settings of your OSC-Software.
It will send the commands to all receiver within the range.
See:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multicast_address

cy001316
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2015, 04:23

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by cy001316 » 23 Oct 2015, 07:31

Thomas wrote:Thats the reason to use a Multicast Address in settings of your OSC-Software.
It will send the commands to all receiver within the range.
See:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multicast_address

So I need to set the two machines to client and master, respectively. Or two machines are set to single?

User avatar
lerou
Posts: 337
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 07:14
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by lerou » 23 Oct 2015, 07:41

cy001316 wrote:
Thomas wrote:So I need to set the two machines to client and master, respectively. Or two machines are set to single?
Question is, what are you doing?! The Master/Client setting you're talking about is used for the interaction (TUIO).

If you're just using OSC to control things (like starting an animation) that has nothing to do with that setting. In that case you just send your OSC signal to all cluster machines - by using Multicast. The cluster sync is implicitly active if you set up your cluster correctly (same group ID, different IDs for the machines). The lowest ID becomes the master for the cluster clock.

Best,
rou

cy001316
Posts: 10
Joined: 16 Oct 2015, 04:23

Re: cluster synchronization

Post by cy001316 » 23 Oct 2015, 09:20

lerou wrote:
cy001316 wrote:
Thomas wrote:So I need to set the two machines to client and master, respectively. Or two machines are set to single?
Question is, what are you doing?! The Master/Client setting you're talking about is used for the interaction (TUIO).

If you're just using OSC to control things (like starting an animation) that has nothing to do with that setting. In that case you just send your OSC signal to all cluster machines - by using Multicast. The cluster sync is implicitly active if you set up your cluster correctly (same group ID, different IDs for the machines). The lowest ID becomes the master for the cluster clock.

Best,
rou

Thank you for your reply.
I was a novice, is a beginner, the first use of ventuz cluster rendering, I want to do is to use OSC control in the cluster two machines. Now the problem is that OSC can only control a machine,if I do not use multicast address, can achieve?

Post Reply