Ventuz Osc/Tuio

Please report bugs in this group. We will maybe populate a list of known bugs with a possibly modified description at a later time.

Moderator: Support

Post Reply
mofo7777
Posts: 53
Joined: 24 Oct 2012, 15:03

Ventuz Osc/Tuio

Post by mofo7777 » 14 Nov 2012, 13:47

Hello.

Sending Tuio data with double value instead of float value seems to crash the Ventuz's UdpReader (64bits version 3.07).

TobiTobsen
Posts: 93
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 20:02

Re: Ventuz Osc/Tuio

Post by TobiTobsen » 15 Nov 2012, 00:59

Hi mofo,
the tuio specs defines float values or int, but no double values.
The OSC receiver needs to parse the incoming data and expects, depending on the first string sent in the message (e.g. set, fseq etc), one ore more values of a certain data type.
If a value is sent in a different data type than defined in the specs, an error will happen. The best would be a perfectly catched and handled exeption :-).

Cheers!
http://www.radar-touch.com
http://www.prime-touch.com

Want to filter or transform TUIO data? http://code.google.com/p/tuiotoolbox/
Looking for a tool generating Testpattern for Softedge projections??? I can help: http://code.google.com/p/projection-calc/

mofo7777
Posts: 53
Joined: 24 Oct 2012, 15:03

Re: Ventuz Osc/Tuio

Post by mofo7777 » 16 Nov 2012, 11:21

Hello.

In fact i don't speak about my program that doesn't handle the error. I speak about Ventuz that stops responding after receiving tuio double value.

TobiTobsen
Posts: 93
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 20:02

Re: Ventuz Osc/Tuio

Post by TobiTobsen » 16 Nov 2012, 15:44

Hi,
sure, I know.
What I tried to say is, if it sends double values, its no TUIO standard. With this its fair enough if a tuio client can not handle that.
Sure it would be better if the exception would be handled and not result in a crashing application.

Cheers!
http://www.radar-touch.com
http://www.prime-touch.com

Want to filter or transform TUIO data? http://code.google.com/p/tuiotoolbox/
Looking for a tool generating Testpattern for Softedge projections??? I can help: http://code.google.com/p/projection-calc/

mofo7777
Posts: 53
Joined: 24 Oct 2012, 15:03

Re: Ventuz Osc/Tuio

Post by mofo7777 » 10 Dec 2012, 12:57

Hello.

Here is a sample to reproduce the bug.
TuioBugSample.vza
Sample Bug Vza
(5.96 KiB) Downloaded 310 times
Load the archive. Turn on input diagnostics.

Try these sequences on input methods :

- LaunchTuioFloat.
- StopTuioFloat.
- SendAlive.
- LaunchTuioFloat.
- StopTuioFloat.
- SendAlive.
... (you can do it as you want).

Then :

- LaunchTuioDouble.
- StopTuioDouble.
... (nothing happens)
- LaunchTuioFloat.
- StopTuioFloat.
... (doesn't work anymore).


Best regards.

Post Reply