AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Q and A about functionality and how to solve a special task for your application.

AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby joschy » 23 Mar 2016, 10:57

Hi there,
I want to build a lower third with 3D shapes separated on 3D layers. But when the shapes overlaps appears a ugly antialiasing border. That's not fine.
I've tried layer orders etc. to get rid of the border, no success. Is there a solution?
My current workaround is, build all in one 3D layer.

AABorder.JPG
AABorder sample


AABorder.vza
V5 scene, no PLE
(233.66 KiB) Downloaded 64 times


tia joschy
3DJo - [Ventuz] freelancer and trainer
joschy
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 07:39
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby chriss0212 » 23 Mar 2016, 14:58

hi jochen,

i think you have to change the aa settings of the layer

greetz

christian
User avatar
chriss0212
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 20:56
Location: wuppertal

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby chriss0212 » 23 Mar 2016, 15:01

yepp...

change aa setings of the layer to fxaa... or if you leave it on "as avconfig" change settings in av config ;)

greetz

christian
User avatar
chriss0212
 
Posts: 557
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 20:56
Location: wuppertal

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby joschy » 23 Mar 2016, 15:04

Jep, FXAA make it ...

Thank's Chris
3DJo - [Ventuz] freelancer and trainer
joschy
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 07:39
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby Götz_B » 24 Mar 2016, 11:58

Hi,

Dierk mentioned that in his speech when he talked about gamma correction ;)

In the graphics driver under 3D Settings you can set Antialiasing Gamma Correction to Off and the border is gone. (This is for Nvidia, dont know the exact name for ATI)

Götz
User avatar
Götz_B
 
Posts: 166
Joined: 21 May 2013, 13:01

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby joschy » 25 Mar 2016, 12:55

Thank's for the refresh götz ;)
There was so much stuff, sorry that some info's fade away...
Btw, it would be nice to found this in the manual.

thanks
3DJo - [Ventuz] freelancer and trainer
joschy
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 19 Jan 2012, 07:39
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby joysprod » 18 May 2016, 11:40

Had a similar problem on a show this week where I was using Ventuz to composite layers to output as a video.
Couldn't find any settings in the AMD/Ati settings. The only way I got this to work was to go into the layer blending settings and select the setting at the bottom - about not pre multiplied alphas or something similar. Sorry haven't got a Ventuz in front of me so doing it from memory. This was the only way I could get a png overlaid in one layer, to give me a clean edge over another.

Peter
joysprod
 
Posts: 180
Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 12:24
Location: United Kingdom

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby Dennis » 18 May 2016, 13:18

chriss0212 wrote:yepp...

change aa setings of the layer to fxaa... or if you leave it on "as avconfig" change settings in av config ;)

greetz

christian


@joysprod

this should fix your issue as well.. since your using an AMD card
User avatar
Dennis
 
Posts: 135
Joined: 08 Jun 2015, 11:29

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby lerou » 28 Sep 2016, 14:57

Unfortunately I am blind. Where do I change the AA setting for a layer? :?:

I've got the same problem and it's really annoying! I have a background layer and a 3D layer. I put some geometry into the 3D layer, put a color node in front - and I get these artifacts. As the default behaviour?!

And the driver tip won't help as well. I need a VPR to run at my client out of the box. I can't tell him to adjust driver settings....

Thanks,
rou
User avatar
lerou
 
Posts: 220
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 07:14
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: AA border where two 3D layer overlap

Postby lerou » 28 Sep 2016, 15:26

Ok, thanks at chriss0212 for telling me.

@Ventuz: Do you see any way you could hide those settings any better? Somebody might actually find them.
User avatar
lerou
 
Posts: 220
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 07:14
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Next

Return to How to