Newtek NDI Support for Ventuz 5

All other topics about Ventuz 5 here.

Newtek NDI Support for Ventuz 5

Postby Daniel Willer » 19 Jul 2016, 13:20

Hi everybody,

Since Ventuz 5.1 we support Newtek's Network Device Interface
to stream Screens or Applications into Ventuz or use Ventuz as an additional input inside a Newtek Tri-Caster.


Check it out

Click here to learn how to add YouTube Videos to your phpBB forum

Also Check the How To in our Usermanual.

Regards
Daniel
User avatar
Daniel Willer
 
Posts: 306
Joined: 06 Jan 2012, 18:12

Re: Newtek NDI Support for Ventuz 5

Postby chriss0212 » 27 Jul 2016, 14:51

Hi all,

its difficult to find information's regarding the delay of NDI. So i made a quick test.

A Ventuz Scene with a counter in autorun. On top the NDI Video monitor to get a loopback. So i have 3 Frames delay ;)

NDI Delay.PNG


Greets

Christian
User avatar
chriss0212
 
Posts: 586
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 20:56
Location: wuppertal

Re: Newtek NDI Support for Ventuz 5

Postby chriss0212 » 27 Jul 2016, 15:07

but what i notice is, that it is not 100% smooth. Independent of bandwidth and bufers.

Is it maybe because source is a not genlocked Laptop?

Greets

Christian
User avatar
chriss0212
 
Posts: 586
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 20:56
Location: wuppertal

Re: Newtek NDI Support for Ventuz 5

Postby ejgazz » 02 May 2017, 21:58

I've noticed the same thing Christian. I'm just starting to dive in to NDI, but I have a smooth stream in the NDI video monitor software and major dropped frames in my designer renderer window.

I know there are some improvements coming in the next release, but have you found any tricks to smooth out the frame rate?
Eric Gazzillo
Display Designer
Quince Imaging
ejgazz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Mar 2017, 14:48
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: Newtek NDI Support for Ventuz 5

Postby Christian Krix Schmidt » 02 May 2017, 22:58

I know this might sound like an insult ... but if you are working in Designer ... is your render output window in exclusive fullscreen mode? Or in virtual fullscreen? That could have a major impact.
Christian Krix Schmidt
 
Posts: 270
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 11:36
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Re: Newtek NDI Support for Ventuz 5

Postby ejgazz » 09 May 2017, 14:23

You're absolutely right, I created a quick .VPR and all was well.
Eric Gazzillo
Display Designer
Quince Imaging
ejgazz
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 15 Mar 2017, 14:48
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: Newtek NDI Support for Ventuz 5

Postby Christian Krix Schmidt » 09 May 2017, 14:38

That's great. Btw, if you open the Live Options window in Designer (main menu -> View), in the AV Options you can switch between Virtual and Exclusive Fullscreen mode on the fly. Would be interesting to see if the Designer in Exclusive Fullscreen mode is also smooth.

Chris
Christian Krix Schmidt
 
Posts: 270
Joined: 18 Jan 2012, 11:36
Location: Dubai, United Arab Emirates


Return to General Discussion