disable PLE to open designer files

Post requests for new features to this forum group. Any suggestion to expand the possibilities of Ventuz are welcome.

disable PLE to open designer files

Postby calonpintar » 03 Feb 2016, 21:10

I had a really bad experience on an event and have to edit project on Ventuz designer on last minute. I finished editing, save it and then I realize that my designer USB dongle did not properly inserted and I'm not aware of that. My Ventuz project saved to PLE accidentally and no way to revert back, the show ruined.

I'm looking for autobackup file duplicate or so, still no luck. All backups are too far to work again, and I asked to client how if we show the PLE watermark and he told me "are you kidding me!??" LOL...

I'm using Ventuz 4, don't know if V5 still have this feature. But, please stop making designer version can be opened in other version. Or, at least there is pop-up question to confirm the file opened on PLE and ask for make a copy.

Fyuhhh....
Thanks
calonpintar
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Mar 2015, 03:54

Re: disable PLE to open designer files

Postby stephan » 04 Feb 2016, 08:58

I know these accidents :D .
First workaround: kill your PLE license.
Greets, Stephan
stephan
 
Posts: 114
Joined: 08 Jun 2012, 09:06
Location: Hamburg

Re: disable PLE to open designer files

Postby Dennis » 09 Feb 2016, 14:02

Hey sorry to hear that ...

Next time try to contact us at support(at)ventuz.com
Sometimes its possible to revert back to a "full version".

But if the Show is running in the next 20minutes its a bit complicated to react in time.

I know Productions/Shows can set you under pressure and mistakes happen then more often.
You should ALWAYS keep a backup of your complete scene, save it as a "ShowName_WIP" folder or whatever and work only on that.

I never touch any "Final Shows" and work on that...

best regArts
Dee

PS: yes, kill your PLE! The licensemanager will pop up then, if your dongle isnt inserted!
User avatar
Dennis
 
Posts: 145
Joined: 08 Jun 2015, 11:29

Re: disable PLE to open designer files

Postby Götz_B » 17 Feb 2016, 16:47

Im also sorry for your ruined show.

But.... uhm... if you accidentially save your scene in the PLE, you can use the scene revisions and go back to the last saved version and everything is fine again.

Regards,

Götz
User avatar
Götz_B
 
Posts: 166
Joined: 21 May 2013, 13:01


Return to Feature Requests

cron