Config dGPU not listed for Surface Book

Please report bugs in this group. We will maybe populate a list of known bugs with a possibly modified description at a later time.

Config dGPU not listed for Surface Book

Postby shermanpat » 10 Nov 2015, 21:11

So Just got my hand on a surface book and trying to do some testing. Noticed that the Ventuz Configuration only shows me the Intel hd520 GPU and not the Nvidia dGPU. (see picture showing config set up and GPUZ to show the 2 GPUs onboard.

I would guess that this problem if less of a Ventuz issue and more of how Microsoft is implementing the switching from the Nvidia dGPU and the Intel GPU. But want to see if anyone has input on how to test what GPU is active and possible fixes.

-Sherman
Attachments
Ventuz Book Config 2.PNG
Ventuz Book Config.PNG
-Sherman
Meru Interactive
User avatar
shermanpat
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 21 Feb 2012, 22:03
Location: SLC Ut USA

Re: Config dGPU not listed for Surface Book

Postby lerou » 11 Nov 2015, 07:14

my Zenbook with an Intel HD and a dedicated nVidia GPU also only shows the intel GPU. It does however correctly use the nVidia once Ventuz is started (at least if you configure nVidia to use the GPU for Ventuz).

Best,
rou
User avatar
lerou
 
Posts: 226
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 07:14
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Config dGPU not listed for Surface Book

Postby TVM Cracklings » 11 Nov 2015, 09:39

Smells like a power saving config or a malfunctioning driver >.>
TVM Cracklings
 
Posts: 32
Joined: 30 Sep 2015, 10:49

Re: Config dGPU not listed for Surface Book

Postby lerou » 11 Nov 2015, 09:42

Smells like Optimus.
User avatar
lerou
 
Posts: 226
Joined: 06 Sep 2013, 07:14
Location: Hamburg, Germany

Re: Config dGPU not listed for Surface Book

Postby ErikB » 11 Nov 2015, 14:44

See my post in the other thread.... LD;DR: install Nvidia Geforce Experience, set up Nvidia as the Default GPU for Ventuz.
User avatar
ErikB
 
Posts: 201
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 12:52

Re: Config dGPU not listed for Surface Book

Postby shermanpat » 12 Nov 2015, 16:50

Saw that, Thanks. I didn't really think it was a Bug on your side...
-Sherman
Meru Interactive
User avatar
shermanpat
 
Posts: 115
Joined: 21 Feb 2012, 22:03
Location: SLC Ut USA


Return to Bug Reports