Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Please report bugs in this group. We will maybe populate a list of known bugs with a possibly modified description at a later time.

Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Postby errox » 27 Nov 2012, 15:23

Hi!

If I use the "Movie Clip Advanced" as Texture the Loader itself cuts off of appr. 3px at the right side of the movie,
(which is mapped on a rect with the movie's size). This has nothing todo with its 2D mapping...
The "Movie Clip" does not have this behaviour.
I heared the advanced one is more reliable and stable, but the cut-off is not acceptable.

At current Ventuz Version: Is the Movie Clip as stable as the Advanced Movie Clip?
This vpr is running 24/7 on a permanent installation.

Do you got any hint?
This concern is urgent.

Thanks.
Nico
errox
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 23 Aug 2012, 16:41

Re: Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Postby Karol » 27 Nov 2012, 17:32

Hi Nico!

Is this related to a certain codec?

Best Regards
Karol
User avatar
Karol
 
Posts: 458
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 12:07

Re: Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Postby errox » 28 Nov 2012, 10:56

Hey Karol,

that was my first thought, I checked wmv and mp4 (h264). Both codecs had the same phenomenon.
I also tested it on a nvidia card and a firepro on different systems... same phenomenon.
I tested different ffdshow settings... but I think this has no effect on the advanced loader.

Can't you reproduce it? If not, I can send you some screenshots + video.

What about the reliability of the "old" loader?

Nico
errox
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 23 Aug 2012, 16:41

Re: Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Postby Karol » 29 Nov 2012, 09:54

You are right!
That's really bad. We have to investigate if this is a Ventuz bug or a problem in ffmpeg.

The problems of old Movie Clip node are:
- worse performance
- no frame-accurate playback
- no async loading
- it's DirectShow based

But if you can live with it, use it.

Best Regards
Karol
User avatar
Karol
 
Posts: 458
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 12:07

Re: Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Postby errox » 05 Dec 2012, 14:07

Hi Karol.

No, I cannot live with the mentioned behaviour...
Please inform me about the fix-status...
The installation is going public on the first week of january 2013...
(so some time left)

Thanks!
errox
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 23 Aug 2012, 16:41

Re: Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Postby Karol » 06 Dec 2012, 11:05

Hi,

we invested this more in detail!
When I confirmed this, it was because of a movie which I created to test this (720p, H264, MOV container).
Today we tested a lot of different movie in different resolutions, with different codecs in different containers and could not find any pattern. Only in very few case this problem occurred.
I have to admit that my first test movie is not encoded correctly (QT Pro) - the right pixels are missing in every movie player (QT, WMP, MPC).

Best Regards
Karol
User avatar
Karol
 
Posts: 458
Joined: 10 Jan 2012, 12:07

Re: Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Postby errox » 07 Jan 2013, 10:52

Happy new year!

I would like to send you a video, which seems be encoded correctly as it is viewed correctly in every video player I tested.
This video is confidential, so pls pm me your email thus I can send you the url.

Cheers!
Nico
errox
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 23 Aug 2012, 16:41

Re: Bug in Movie Clip Advanced

Postby errox » 04 Feb 2013, 12:58

Hi everybody!

If any of you runs into the same phenomenon: It's about the resolution.
I used a 804x452px mp4 video in pixel space to have native output.
The mentioned bug appears on awry resolutions and is within the FFMPEG decoder!

I rendered the videos up to a "normal" resolution (720p) and everything is fine...
thx Karol

Nico
errox
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 23 Aug 2012, 16:41


Return to Bug Reports

cron